Something Sweet and Salty…

19 April 2016
So i was, as usual, thinking of what to cook for brunch for hon and me. I looked inside the fridge/freezer and saw a few frozen smoked salmon and the almost empty bottled Daing.
On the stove are the following: the small pan where I cooked the rice yesterday and the pan with a bit of the mushroom gravy I made for the pork chops yesterday.
Cooking mama switch… ON.
I mixed some brown sugar, mirin, light soy, honey and water in a small saucepan. I let it boil, added the smoked salmon and simmered for a few minutes.
In a skillet, I sautéd 2 crushed cloves of garlic then added the leftover rice. I added the daing and the salmon (drained), added a few spoons of the teriyaki sauce for some color and flavor, and then seasoned it with salt and pepper. I also added an egg, mixed it with the rice until it’s cooked.
Lastly, I got all the mushrooms from the gravy and washed it with freshly boiled water. I then mixed them with the rice for a minute or so.  
 
As if on cue, my hubby was up and hungry! 😜 

Leave a Reply

