TGIF

29 April 2016

It’s a Friday today but my daughter doesn’t have classes. Andres, on the other hand, has an event in school, but we were not able to wake up early for it. 😁 He again, asked for a French Toast. (Please see my 23 April 2016 blog)

I noticed that the bread needs to be consumed soon. Thank God Andres asked for a French Toast. 😊 I guess we have to eat the bread now. It was time to prepare “brunch” for the big ones and lunch for Andres.

I thought of making a Beef dish that can be eaten with bread. 

First I boiled some cubed potatoes. While doing this, I cooked the beef. I sautéed some onions, then added some sliced mushrooms and then the beef. I used sukiyaki beef. I seasoned it with salt and pepper. I transferred the beef in a bowl and set it aside. In the same skillet, I made a roux (mixture of butter and flour) then added some broth. Using a wire whisk, I continued mixing until it started to thicken. I also added some liquid seasoning (soy sauce can be used, too) for added flavor and color. I then put back the beef and the potatoes then seasoned it with salt and pepper. I also added some water until i got the thickness that I want (make sure to let it boil after adding water). 

I toasted the bread. I used the muffin pan so I can toast 6 slices in one go. I used cooking spray to slightly grease the muffin cups, arranged the slices of bread on each cup and then baked it for a few minutes in the oven or until golden brown. 

I arranged 2 toasted bread cups per plate, scooped a generous amount of the beef with mushrooms and potatoes then I topped each cup with grated gouda cheese. I then used a blow torch to melt the cheese. 


Looks like it’s going to rain. Good thing everybody’s home except for Fiki. Thank God it’s Friday! And it’s a long weekend. 😊 No classes on Monday, too! (In lieu of 1 May – Labor day) 

 

Leave a Reply

