Cooking inspiration…

2 May 2016

I was having coffee and chatting with my friend this morning (Hi Mandy!) when I realized that Mik’s flight was in the afternoon yet. So that means, I have to prepare lunch on time and I haven’t really decided on what to cook because I thought it will be just me, Ika and Andres. Truth be told, the reason behind my “cooking”, my motivation, is my hubby. I cook and if there is a positive reaction from him, it’s an achievement for me. 😊 I don’t know if he just loves me, so far, they’re all positive feedbacks. 😜 

From the freezer, I took out the last few pieces of my homemade Lucban Longganisa and the Davao Longganisa that was given to us by a friend. I let it thaw and I took off the meat from the casing. 

I cooked some pasta (this time it’s a combination of shell and elbow macaroni) according to package instructions. 

In a skillet, I sautéed some garlic and onion in olive oil. I then added the meat, a can of diced tomatoes and some tomato paste. I also added some water, stirred the mixture and let it boil. I then seasoned it with salt, pepper and Italian seasoning. I let it simmer for a few minutes. 

In another skillet, I made some béchamel sauce. First I made a roux (mixture of butter and flour), then I added milk. Stirred the mixture continuously with a wire whisk until it started to boil. Once it started to boil, I turned off the fire and seasoned it with salt, pepper and a pinch of ground nutmeg. 

I mixed the pasta with some of the sauce (tomato based), leaving some for topping. Then I also mixed some béchamel sauce, also leaving some for topping. I transferred the pasta to a heat proof dish (like a pyrex) and then topped it with both the sauces. I then added a mixture of grated cheddar, gouda and Parmeggiano Reggiano cheese on top. I baked the pasta in 180 degrees centigrade for about 15-20 minutes. 

Before serving, I took out the strawberry dessert that I made last night (please see my previous blog) to soften it a bit.

Just in time, everyone was ready to eat. 😊

Satisfied hubby’s tummy? Check!! He even wanted to take some for his flight! 😊

Leave a Reply

