Sudden urges…. šŸ¤”

2 May 2016

Just before midnight, I had this sudden urge to do something. I remembered I bought 3 punnets of strawberries last Saturday and I was sort off worried that it might get spoilt. Finally I got up and went to the kitchen. In the fridge were some condensed milk, some evaporated milk and  some butter. I took out my copper saucepan, then combined the following in it: a couple of egg yolks, the condensed milk and evaporated milk (around half a cup each), added some water and butter,  and cooked over medium heat while stirring with a wire whisk. I continued stirring until the mixture thickened. While letting it cool down, I washed the strawberries and took off the greens on top. I made a puree using a blender with 1/3 of the strawberries. I set aside 6 pcs for garnishing and the rest, I mashed. I mixed the puree and the mashed strawberries with the custard, adding some sugar to taste. The sweetness lessens after freezing.

I saw some leftover lady fingers used in making tiramisu. I used the blender to crush them (about 1 cup) and then melted some butter (about 3-4 tablespoons)  and crushed some pistachios (about 2 tablespoons). I combined the three with some sugar (2-3 tablespoons) and then pressed them on a container (like a crust). 

I poured the strawberry mixture on the crust and then garnished it with strawberry halves. I then put it in the freezer. 

After cleaning up, I went back to bed, then I hoped and prayed for it to taste good. šŸ¤—šŸ™šŸ»šŸ˜‹

Leave a Reply

