Oh exams! 😳

5 May 2016

Exam period ruins every mom’s schedule. I was not able to cook a decent meal for 2 days!  What’s more, last night, I was washing the dishes in peace when Andres approached me and said, “Mama, the sailboat!” He was telling me about it a few days back. I guess I wasn’t paying attention ’cause I didn’t know that the submission’s today, 5May. Talk about surprises! 😱

Past 10 in the evening, I walked to the nearest 24hour supermarket (about 2 bus stops away). I needed a styro por for the “boat”. The one used to pack meat is perfect. Of course I got carried away . I bought more than I could carry and I don’t have the trolley with me! I thought I wouldnt reach our place alive! 😜

And then I ended up doing the sailboat. He helped me, though. I didn’t take a photo of it. We even had to check if it can float! So glad it did! 😊

This morning, I practiced my right to vote. Hubby was going to the embassy to have his passport renewed so we went there together. We thought we still had time to have some breakfast before he goes to his monthly instructor’s meeting, but when we reached the airport (that’s where they have their meetings),  it was late already. So we just hugged and went on our own ways. I got back home by 11am, still had plenty of time before I pick up the little man. I was also able to cook for dinner. Lunch would be just me and Andres so we could just munch on some leftover stuff. I’ve decided to cook the fambam’s all time favorite, my mom’s Classic Spaghetti Meat Sauce. We usually combine ground beef with ground pork when cooking spaghetti. 

I sautΓ©ed about a head of garlic, minced and a medium sized onion, chopped. I added a can of mushroom, sliced, then I added the ground meat (I used a combination of beef and pork but it’s common to use beef only). When the color of the meat changed, I added about 2 cans of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato paste. I also seasoned it with salt, pepper and Italian seasoning. Back home in Manila, we pluck around 3 leaves of fresh oregano and add them to the mixture. 😊 I added a bit of sugar and soy sauce (for added flavor and coloring). I let it boil and then simmer for about 2 hours in low heat, stirring the mixture occasionally. I had to turn off the fire even before the 2hours was up because I had to pick up Andres already. I just turned on the fire and continued to cook when we got back.  

After we had lunch (just some hotdogs and rice 😜), I let him sleep for an hour. I took this time to cook the pasta and did some folding of clothes taken down from the clothesline. 

Finally we started to review. First English, then Math. When we were studying Math, he did some delaying tactics. He’ll start telling me stories, he’ll excuse himself to go to the toilet, and the best was, he asked me if I wanted to see his Mother’s day gift to me. Of course I told him that it was up to him. And so he gave me this. 😍 

After some problem solving, he said he was hungry already. πŸ™„ Of course I obliged. 😊 I toasted some bread slices to go with the spaghetti, too. 

We did some more problem solving until daddy came home. Boy, he was so happy to see him! Hahaha! πŸ˜‚

Leave a Reply

