Our big healthy Sunday breakfast/brunch….

15 May 2016

Grateful that I woke up to a beautiful Sunday with Mik’s fever down to 37.8 degrees C. 😊

Yesterday, I tried making pancakes from scratch. It was a huge success! Kids loved it and the pancakes were really fluffy. 😊 Today, I tried making Belgian Waffles from scratch. I missed my friend’s Liege waffle and we’re out of stock already. Since it was also near lunch time, I thought of doing waffles with bacon and eggs, eggs Benedict inspired. For the two younger ones, just plain waffles with bacon and eggs. 

For the Belgian Waffle: First thing’s first, it was to pre heat the waffle iron. Then I whisked together 2 egg yolks, a teaspoon of vanilla, a cup of buttermilk and a quarter of butter, melted. I combined all the dry ingredients: a cup of flour, a teaspoon and a half of baking powder, a half teaspoon of baking soda, a half tablespoon of sugar and a quarter teaspoon of salt. I then stirred the dry ingredients to the buttermilk mixture. In another bowl, I whipped 2 egg whites until stiff. I then folded the whites into the batter. 

Before and after putting the batter into the hot waffle iron, I sprinkled some cracked pearl sugar. 👍🏻 I wanted the waffle to be crispy outside but soft inside so it took a little longer to cook. 😊

The kid’s brekky: the waffle, strips of crispy bacon and scrambled eggs. They put light corn syrup before eating it. 😋

Our brekky: the waffle, spinach, strips of bacon, sunny side up and then topped with a mock hollandaise sauce (mixture of light mayonnaise, lemon juice, melted butter, salt and cayenne pepper).

It was truly a big breakfast! The waffle did not disappoint me. 😜 

Leave a Reply

