Busy Sunday

15 May 2016

I found myself staying in the kitchen for most part of the day today. I was just going to make Chicken Sopas, I thought this will be good for my hubby who is still sick. 🤒 

While waiting for the chicken (I used 5 packs of soup bones, added water, whole onion, peppercorns and salt) to boil and simmer until fork comes through when poked, I saw the leftover pork belly pieces. I transferred them to a small saucepan, put some vinegar, few cloves of garlic (slightly crushed), bay leaf, whole peppercorns and just a bit of soy sauce. I also added water then put the pan over fire. After boiling, I let it simmer for a few minutes. Pork belly leftover is now turned into an Adobo. 

Still waiting, I thought of making a dessert, something cold as it really is hot here. I drained 2 cans of peaches with heavy syrup (the syrup, I put in a glass with ice and gave it to Mik… He loves that.) By this time, I transferred the chicken to a colander, to let it cool a bit before taking the meat off the bones and cut them in small pieces. 

I cut the peaches into cubes, got 2 cans of cream and a can of condensed milk from the cupboard. I whipped the cream in a bowl and then added the condensed milk. I added some sugar until it tasted very very sweet. ( sweetness lessens when frozen) I added the peaches to the cream mixture. Just before transferring the mixture to a container, I saw the cavendish that we bought last night. 🤔 I got one piece, peeled, cut it into cubes and mixed it with the peaches. 

My Peach-Banana Fruit Salad, before freezing:

They had some even if it’s not yet frozen…

Back to the chicken, I removed the meat from the bones and cut them into small cubes. In a casserole, I sautéed some garlic and just before it turned brown, I added the chicken and seasoned it with salt and pepper. Then I added the broth used in boiling the chicken. I added the elbow macaroni when the soup was boiling. I turned off the fire when the macaroni was cooked and then added some milk (I use evaporated milk). I like my Chicken Sopas simple, no carrots, just the chicken, noodles and broth. I just make sure it’s tasty. 😉

Normally, when I cook sopas, that’s lunch or dinner already. The fambam likes it that way, but just to make sure, I added a few boneless porkchops (fried) and rice. 😜 I figured, when Fiki comes home, he would want to eat rice. 

And so he did…. 😉😊

Leave a Reply

