Beef Curry Rice and Barbecue Pulled Pork on Toast with Cole Slawย 

20 May 2016

Oh joy… Long weekend for Andres!๐Ÿ˜œ Mik’s flight was in the afternoon yet, so I knew I will have the morning all by myself because he’ll be getting up late in the morning. ๐Ÿ˜Š I had my usual coffee and then leisurely, I tried to organize my stuff in the kitchen. I also washed and set up my new “toy”, my slow cooker, and then I started to make Barbecue Pulled Pork in the slow cooker. For lunch, I made Beef Curry. ๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜… The house smelled of curry and barbecue. ๐Ÿ˜ I had to open all the windows! ๐Ÿ˜œ

For the Pulled Pork, I based the mixture from this recipe, http://allrecipes.com/recipe/92462/slow-cooker-texas-pulled-pork/. I added half a teaspoon of liquid smoke to the mixture to give some smokey taste. (This is optional, I just happen to have some. ๐Ÿ˜œ) The barbecue sauce, I made from scratch. ๐Ÿ˜‹ (Mixture of ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, mustard powder, salt, apple cider vinegar, garlic powder and brown sugar…. I let it boil over fire) I also set the cooking time to 6 hours on high. 

After shredding using 2 forks….
For the Beef Curry, I used this, http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/fragrant-beef-curry-with-rice-104202,  I used sukiyaki beef. (curry powder and chili powder can be adjusted, I added more curry powder.) ๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜Š

Late in the afternoon, I also made some coleslaw to go with the pulled pork. I used 1 head cabbage and 1 carrot (shredded). I mixed in some minced onions, sugar, salt, pepper, white vinegar, lemon juice, milk and buttermilk. I let it rest in the fridge before serving. 

I served the pulled pork on toasted bread with butter with the coleslaw as side dish. ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜˜ Andres loved the cole slaw!! 

My new toy passed with flying colors! ๐Ÿ˜œ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

Leave a Reply

