Twice, on the spot!

3 June 2016

Woke up late. I woke up because Fiki was leaving for work and he went inside our room to kiss me. “Oh gosh! What time is it?”… “11:20am, mom.” 😱😱😱

I overslept because, again, cuz (my best cousin who lives in the states) and I had our marathon updates…. we ended past 3am (SG time) already and we had a good laugh after because when I checked my phone battery, it had 1% battery charge left! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ 

I rushed out to see if Mark’s awake already. Of course!! And he had coffee already…. Geesh!! So what can I prepare? Am sure he’s hungry! … I am!! It’s actually lunch time already but everything’s hard as a rock (frozen). I took out the beef and turned on the fan and made sure it was aimed at the beef for faster thawing. 😬 I decided to prepare something to eat while waiting for the beef to thaw. I cooked some pancakes for both of us and topped it with Canadian bacon and fried egg with maple syrup. And because I was in a hurry to feed him, I forgot to take a photo of it. (It was yummy and filling, by the way! 😜)

Now what to do with the beef? It pays to have a cupboard/pantry filled with ingredients that are often used. Mushrooms, kernel corn, luncheon meat, corned beef, tuna, sardines, canned tomatoes, tomato paste, pasta, etc, etc. 😊 The mushroom won! Beef with Mushroom! Good thing I always have butter in the fridge and lots of bottled goodies like olives, capers, blah, blah, blah. 😊 The downside is, SPACE. πŸ˜πŸ˜„

So in a skillet, I sautΓ©ed some sliced mushrooms with garlic then set it aside first. In the same pan, I seared the beef for a few minutes and set it aside, too. Still in the same pan, I melted some butter, added some flour to make a roux. I added some water (broth can be used as well) and mixed it with a wire whisk to remove the lumps until smooth and with the right consistency and thickness, I put back the beef and the mushroom, seasoned it with salt, pepper and some liquid seasoning. 

Since we were still full from the pancake with bacon and egg, I just told Mark to just help himself when he’s ready for “lunch”.😜 For Andres, this was his “brunch.” (That’s what he said. 😊)

I made quite a lot of the beef and mushroom, thinking that since Mark and I were having dinner with their childhood friend, it will be enough for their (Mik, Ika and Andres) dinner. 

I was already dressed up, ready to go when I saw Ika eating. She also told me that she finished the beef. 😳😳😳😱😱😱 (What?!!!)

Not again!! As if telling me that she won’t be eating dinner because she’s full already would calm me down….. What will Mik and Andres have for dinner?!! 

At first I thought of just making a tuna salad spread… then I remembered I just used half the can of mushrooms for the beef. Then there’s some cooked pasta in the fridge (in a ziplock) and some olives, as well. I decided to make an olive oil based tuna pasta sauce. 

I sautΓ©ed some minced garlic in olive oil. I then added the sliced mushrooms followed by some sliced olives, then the tuna (drained but I reserved some of the liquid). After a few minutes, I added some of the liquid (to add flavor to the sauce) and then seasoned it with salt, pepper and some Italian seasoning. 

I was cleaning up in the kitchen when Mik arrived from his flight so I started to re-heat the noodles in hot water, drained it and mixed it with the pasta sauce. 

Oh… I soooo welcomed the dinner get together with Mark and Leah tonight after 2 on the spot cookings today! πŸ€—πŸ˜œ 

Then guess what?!! Mik and Andres didn’t eat dinner because they fell asleep!!! πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

So tomorrow’s lunch would be….. πŸ˜„πŸ˜œ 

Leave a Reply

