Almost midnight snack for the fambam….and some food recycling on the side… πŸ˜‰

5 June 2016

We were out the whole day. It started with a lunch get together with Mik’s cousin and his family, then we went “malling”. 

We went home tired but still full. Those who still wanted to eat ate the “tapau” food from our lunch. Me, I had dessert (the Mango Cream Pie that I made yesterday). πŸ˜‹πŸ˜˜

Suddenly,  the little man approached me and said, “I’m hungry, what can I eat?” πŸ˜³πŸ˜¬πŸ€”

Times like this, I open the fridge door and see what I can do. There were some leftover rice in the fridge and some chicken leg quarter fillets in the chiller. I also saw some left over tuna pasta (maybe around a cupfull).  I also saw the leftover tuna pasta sauce (I didn’t use all the sauce the other day). I took out all those food I mentioned and started to do my thing. πŸ˜„

I rubbed salt all over the chicken quarters and then cut them into small pieces. Since there will be no more time to “let the flavor set” in the chicken, I put a generous amount of salt. 

In a skillet, I put oil just to cover the base of the pan. After a few minutes, i added the chicken pieces, skin side down then covered the skillet. When the skin looked crispy, I flipped the chicken pieces then covered the skillet again. I turned off the heat when cooked and transferred the chicken to a colander and let it rest to remove the excess oil in the chicken. 

Pan-fried Chicken….
Using the same skillet, I removed the excess oil from the pan and turned on the stove again. I put the rice and then added some garlic powder. The chicken drippings will serve as flavor to the rice so there is no need to add salt. I mixed the rice until heated through. 

Garlic Fried Rice…
Earlier on, while pan frying the chicken, I transferred the tuna pasta sauce in a small skillet, added some butter and then when the butter melted, I added a small amount of cream. Voila! Instant Tuna Casserole! 😜 The fambam loves to eat this with crackers. I let it cool and transferred the mixture to a small plastic container and put it in the fridge. 

Tuna Pasta Sauce turned into Tuna Casserole…
In the same pan, I put the tuna pasta, turned on the stove again and placed the pan over the fire. When the pasta started to get heated through, I added a few spoons of water and also some cream, gave it some toss then turned off the fire. I transferred it to a bowl and gobbled on it while cooking the chicken. 😜

Good thing I cooked the 3 quarter fillets because all of them had their share….. πŸ˜‹πŸ˜Š  

The “almost” midnight snack… 😊
Leave a Reply

