Celebration of sorts….Β 

3 July 2016

It was just the day after we arrived from our Manila vacation when my friend, Sai (Sacro) told me that she has with her the ice crusher that I asked her to buy for me and that since my birthday’s coming up, it would be her gift for me. (Yey!!) The school holiday was ending too, so I asked her if we can still have an activity before school starts again. They had visitors that last weekend (and her youngest David’s birthday) so we’ve decided to have our get together today at their place. 😊

We agreed on a Japanese theme. I suggested that we just prepare Sukiyaki, Teppanyaki (beef, chicken and veggies), Salmon Teriyaki and Hibachi style fried rice. 

My assignment was to buy the beef needed for the Sukiyaki and Teppanyaki, and also the glass noodles for the Sukiyaki. When we were planning this (on Whatsapp), I mentioned the ingredients needed and I was surprised yesterday that Sai was able to buy almost all!! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜œ I prepared the sauces at home to minimize our cooking time. 

For the Sukiyaki sauce, I mixed and boiled together around 2 cups of beef broth, 1/4-1/3 cups of soy sauce (preferably Kikkoman) and a quarter of a cup each of sugar and sweet rice wine or mirin. 

For the Teriyaki sauce, I mixed and boiled together half a cup of soy sauce, a quarter cup of water, 2 tablespoons of sweet rice wine, 2 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons of brown sugar or 2 tablespoons of honey, a quarter cup of white sugar, some minced garlic and ginger to taste. 

We didn’t talk about dessert so I decided to make Red Velvet cupcakes around 3 hours before our target time to leave the house. 😜 I used the recipe from allrecipes.com. http://allrecipes.com/recipe/212429/red-velvet-cupcakes/. Sai, on the other hand, made brownies and served it ala mode! πŸ˜‹

Red Velvet Cupcales….
Sai’s Brownie ala Mode….

We reached their place past 6pm. The boys went to swim right away, the dads and the girls (our daughters) watched a movie on tv while the moms (Sai and myself) started cooking. 

For the fried rice, I sautΓ©ed some minced pork with garlic then added chopped carrots. I added the rice (3cups), seasoned it with salt, pepper and soy sauce, and then added 2 eggs. 

For the sukiyaki, In a skillet, I sautΓ©ed the sukiyaki beef with garlic then pushed it on one side. I then mixed together some leeks (sliced), shitake mushrooms (sliced), and carrots (sliced). I then poured the sukiyaki sauce and let it simmer for a few minutes. Then I added the tofu (cubed), the petchay Baguio (snow cabbage or chinese cabbage, sliced) and the noodles and let it simmer for a few minutes. 

For the salmon, in a skillet, I mixed together some teriyaki sauce and water and then put the salmon. Covered and let it simmer for a few minutes.

For the Beef Teppanyaki, I first seared the steak on the grill for a few seconds, while adding a dash of salt and pepper on each side. I then cut the steak in cubes and put them back on the grill. I added some soy sauce and mirin, flipping over the cubes, so that all sides will be cooked. (Be careful not to overcook the meat!)

For the Chicken Teppanyaki, I did the same procedure with the beef, only after cutting them into cubes, I added garlic (minced) and ginger (I used ground ginger, just a few dash) together with the soy sauce and mirin. 

We simmered the remaining Teriyaki Sauce to reduce it and used it as a dipping sauce for the chicken. We just used the soy sauce (Kikkoman) as dipping sauce for the beef.

Lastly, for the veggies, I sautΓ©ed the bean sprouts and carrots with garlic. Since there were still some drippings left on the griller from the chicken, I didn’t add soy sauce and mirin anymore. 😊

After eating, they resumed their movie watching while the 2 moms resumed their “catching up”…. πŸ˜œπŸ˜‚πŸ˜

Movie night for the rest of them….

It was a celebration of sorts. During the planning stage, we were saying it’s a post birthday celebration, but it was really only a reason for us to get together, to catch up on “what’s the latest” and to let the kids play. πŸ˜ŠπŸ’• 

The “gift”…. πŸ‘πŸ»
The “celebrants”….
Leave a Reply

