Impromptu meals…Β 

It always happens. Sometimes we have unexpected guests. Easiest is when friends of our kids suddenly come. There’s always the delivery service. 😜 Usually McDo or pizza. 

The most challenging of all is when Fiki comes home from work and there’s no food because we ate out for dinner, or when Mik comes home from a flight after midnight and he hasn’t eaten yet. 

This afternoon, (well, it’s yesterday afternoon, actually) Andres’ best buddy, Ryumei came over for a playdate. I just cooked some chicken popcorns, chicken nuggets and re-heated some waffles for their snack. I haven’t thought of dinner yet when Andres asked me if Ryumei can stay for dinner. 😱 Of course he can! First he has to ask his mom if he can, second, I haven’t thought of what to prepare yet! 😜 Ryumei was given permission, so the fastest way was to order pizza!! πŸ˜€ 

There was a confusion on the delivery, though. I ordered 2 pizzas but only 1 was delivered. They already gave me a refund for the other pizza, but I also knew, there won’t be enough for Fiki and Mik, in case they haven’t eaten yet.

When Fiki came home, it was already 1:30am. There was 1 slice left. I let him eat it and started thinking of what to prepare for him. 

There was still a handful of the boiled chicken breast fillet cubes left in the fridge. Saw an opened can of cream (covered with a cling wrap), basil and 1 baguette. 

I sautΓ©ed the chicken with garlic and onion, added little water and chicken powder (broth can be used, too). I lowered the fire and added the basil and then the cream. 

I just got 2 thick diagonal slices of the baguette, spread some butter on both sides and then pan grilled the bread slices on both sides until golden in color. 

I served the chicken on top of the bread slices. I love it when Fiki kisses me on the head after he eats and says, “Thank you, Mama!” πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•

It was almost 2:30am when Mik came home from his flight. His flight got delayed because of some technical problems at the start of their flight. When asked if he’s hungry, he said he hasn’t eaten yet. πŸ‘€πŸ˜±

Sometimes I’d like to believe that I work better when I am cramming…. Or maybe when I open the fridge door, I see an answer. Hahaha! ‘Cause that’s what I usually do, open the fridge door, then ask, “What to cook?” I saw the Lucban longganisa and then an idea came into my head. 

I removed the casing of the longganisa, put it in a small pan over fire to toast it a bit. Then I got what’s left of the baguette and removed a portion on top, making a rectangular well. I covered the bottom of the well with slices of butter and then covered it again with slices of Camembert Cheese. I popped it in the oven to melt the cheese a bit, took it out again and added the Lucban longganisa on top of the cheese. Then covered it with provolone cheese, gave it a push to somehow mix it wirh the meat and put it back in the oven for a few minutes.

I served this with my Chicken Potato Salad. Hubby….. Happy! πŸ˜œπŸ˜˜πŸ’• My kitchen never sleeps! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Leave a Reply

